Section 4 in The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Act, 2005

Title: Amendment of Third Schedule and Fourth Schedule of Act 43 of 1950

Description: In the Representation of the People Act, 1950,-- (a) in the Third Schedule, before entry No. 2 relating to Bihar, the following entry shall be inserted, namely:-- "1. Andhra Pradesh 90 31 8 8 31 12"; (b) in the Fourth Schedule, before the heading "BIHAR", the following heading and entries shall be inserted, namely:-- "ANDHRA PRADESH 1. Municipal Corporations. 2. Municipalities. 3. Nagar Panchayats. 4. Cantonment Boards. 5. ZilaPraja Parishads. 6. Mandal Praja Parishads.".

Title: Amendment of section 15A of Act 43 of 1951

Description: In section 15A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, for the words and figures "under the Legislative Councils Act, 1957" (37of 1957), the words and figures "under the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Act, 2005" shall be substituted.

Title: Short title and commencement

Description: (1) This Act may be called the Uttaranchal (Alteration of Name) Act, 2006. (2) It shall come into force on such date1 as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, appoint. 1. 1st January, 2007, vide notification No. GSR 779(E), dated 29th December, 2006, see Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, sec. 3(ii).

Title: Definitions

Description: In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,— (a) "appointed day" means the date appointed under sub-section (2) of section 1 for the coming into force of this Act; (b) "appropriate Government" means, as respects a law relating to a matter enumerated in List I in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution, the Central Government, and as respects any other law, the State Government; (c) "law" includes any enactment, Ordinance, regulation, order, bye-law, rule, scheme, notification or other instrument having the force of law in the whole or any part of the State of Uttaranchal.

Title: Alteration of name of the State of Uttaranchal

Description: As from the appointed day, the State of Uttaranchal shall be known as the State of Uttarakhand.