Section 29 in The Rehabilitation Council of India Act, 1992

Title: Power to make regulations

Description: The Council may, with the previous sanction of the Central Government, make, by notification, regulations generally to carry out the purposes of this Act, and without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing power, such regulations may provide for— (a) the management of the property of the Council; (b) the maintenance and audit of the accounts of the Council; (c) the resignation of members of the Council; (d) the powers and duties of the Chairperson; (e) the rules of procedure in the transaction of business under sub-section (3) of section 4; (f) the function of the Executive Committee and other committees, constituted under section 7; (g) the powers and duties of the Member-Secretary under sub-section (1) of section 8; (h) the qualifications, appointment, powers and duties of, and procedure to be followed by, Inspectors and Visitors; (i) the courses and period of study or of training, to be undertaken, the subjects of examination and standards of proficiency therein to be obtained in any University or any institution for grant of recognised rehabilitation qualification; (j) the standards of staff, equipment, accommodation, training and other facilities for study or training of the rehabilitation professionals; (k) the conduct of examinations, qualifications of examiners, and the condition of the admission to such examinations; (l) the standards of professional conduct and etiquette and code of ethics to be observed by rehabilitation professionals under sub-section (1) of section 21; (m) the particulars to be stated, and proof of qualifications to be given, in application for registration under this Act; (n) the manner in which and the conditions subject to which an appeal may be preferred under sub-section (1) of section 22; (o) the fees to be paid on applications and appeals under this Act; (p) any other matter which is to be, or may be, prescribed.

Title: Laying of rules and regulations before Parliament

Description: Every rule and every regulation made under this Act shall be laid, as soon as may be after it is made, before each House of Parliament, while it is in session, for a total period of thirty days which may be comprised in one session or in two or more successive sessions, and if, before the expiry of the session immediately following the session or the successive sessions aforesaid, both Houses agree in making any modification in the rule or regulation, or both Houses agree that the rule or regulation should not be made, the rule or regulation shall thereafter have effect only in such modified form or be of no effect, as the case may be; so, however, that any such modification or annulment shall be without prejudice to the validity of anything previously done under that rule or regulation.

Title: Short title and commencement

Description: (1) This Act may be called the Central Agricultural University Act, 1992. (2) It shall come into force on such date1 as the Central Government may, by notification in the Official Gazette, appoint. 1. 26th January, 1993, vide notification No. S.O. 72(E), dated 25th January, 1993, see Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, sec. 3(ii).

Title: Definitions

Description: In this Act, and in all Statutes made hereunder, unless the context otherwise requires,-- (a) "Academic Council" means the Academic Council of the University; (b) "academic staff" means such categories of staff as are designated as academic staff by the Ordinances; (c) "agriculture" means the basic and applied sciences of the soil and water management, crop production including production of all garden crops, control of plants, pests and diseases, horticulture including floriculture, animal husbandry including veterinary and dairy science, fisheries, forestry including farm forestry, home-science, agricultural engineering and technology, marketing and processing of agricultural and animal husbandry products, land use and management; (d) "Board" means the Board of Management of the University; (e) "Board of Studies" means the Board of Studies of the University; (f) "Chancellor" means the Chancellor of the University; (g) "college" means a constituent college of the University whether located at the headquarters, campus or elsewhere; (h) "Department" means a Department of Studies of the University; (i) "employee" means any person appointed by the University and includes teachers and other staff of the University; (j) "extension education" means the educational activities concerned with the training of orchardists, farmers and other groups serving agriculture, horticulture, fisheries and improved practices related thereto and the various phases of scientific technology related to agriculture and agricultural production including post harvest technology and marketing; (k) "Faculty" means Faculty of the University; (l) "North-Eastern region" means the North-Eastern region of India comprising the States of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, 1[Nagaland,] Sikkim and Tripura; (m) "Ordinances" means the Ordinances of the University; (n) "Regulations" means the Regulations made by any authority of the University; (o) "Research Advisory Committee" means the Research Advisory Committee of the University; (p) "Statutes" means the Statutes of the University; (q) "student" means a person enrolled in the University for undergoing a course of studies for obtaining a degree, diploma or other academic distinction duly instituted; (r) "teachers" means Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Teaching Faculty Members and their equivalent appointed for imparting instruction or conducting research or extension education programmes or combination of these in the University, college or any institute maintained by the University and designated as teachers by the Ordinances; (s) "University" means the Central Agricultural University established under this Act; (t) "Vice-Chancellor" means the Vice-Chancellor of the University; (u) "Visitor" means the Visitor of the University. 1. Ins. by Act 45 of 2016, s. 2 (w.e.f. 19-8-2016).

Title: The University

Description: (1) There shall be established a University by the name of the "Central Agricultural University". (2) The headquarters of the University shall be at Imphal in the State of Manipur and it may also establish campuses at such other places within its jurisdiction as it may deem fit. (3) The first Chancellor and the first Vice-Chancellor and the first members of the Board, the Academic Council and all persons who may hereafter become such officers or members, so long as they continue to hold such office or membership are hereby constituted a body corporate by the name of the Central Agricultural University. (4) The University shall have perpetual succession and a common seal and shall sue and be sued by the said name.